Stephen Dunn Reading Series: Marciela Guerrero

Galloway, N.J. – Marciela Guerrero, a Mexican poet, writer and teacher, is set to be the final speaker for this year’s Stephen Dunn Reading Series on Tuesday, Nov. 7, at 6 p.m.

In addition to speaking at this event, Guerrero is the International Visiting Writer in Residence for this fall. She is also the author of nine books of poetry and a fellow of Mexico’s National System of Art Creators, a program that was founded in order to keep art and artists an essential part of Mexico’s identity. She plans to read in Spanish with English translations.

The event will be hosted in L212 and simulcasted via Zoom. Admission is free, and the public is welcome to attend. 

About Marciela Guerrero

Maricela Guerrero is the author of nine poetry collections. “El sueño de toda célula” (Ediciones Antílope/Instituto Veracruzano de la Cultura, Mexico City, 2018) won the Clemencia Isaura Prize in 2018. Cardboard House Press published her book “Kilimanjaro,” translated by Stalina Villareal, in 2018. Her work has also been translated into German, Swedish, and French. She currently lives in Mexico City. 

About The Stephen Dunn Reading Series

Named after the late Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and distinguished professor emeritus of Creative Writing, the series is sponsored by: Murphy Writing of Stockton University; the William T. Daly School of General Studies; The Literature program in the School of Arts & Humanities; and Board of Trustee member Madeleine Deininger, '80. 

This event is also part of Stockton's Visiting International Writer Series. 

Previous Speakers

  • Jordan Calhoun (Author, editor-in-chief of Lifehacker) – 2023
    • Read about his visit in the Argo by student Diamond Rogers.
  • Jane Wong (Author, artist and poet) – 2023
    • Read about her visit in the Argo by student Diamond Rogers. 
  • Dolen Perkins-Valdez (New York Times bestselling author) – 2023
  • Nathan Long & Nancy Reddy (LITT faculty) and Michelle Servellon & Jenna Geisinger (alumnae) – 2023
  • Joshua Cohen (Pulitzer Prize in Fiction winner) – 2022